About Yorkshire Ridings

The three Yorkshire Ridings – North, West, East – are the historic divisions of Yorkshire. (No South Riding, because ‘North Riding’ etc is a contraction of ‘North Thirding’. The Vikings thought in threes, much as I do when entering a Wetherspoon.)

My 'ridings' are a series of occasional bike trips from my home in York to explore England's largest county.

Eight Compass Rides, each from my home in York to the cyclable extremities of the historic border (N, S, E, W, NE, NW, SE, SW), will form the central rides on this site – see the map on the right. They are:

N: York to Redcar Touring bike, on-road. Done: 3 Apr 2017
S: York to Harthill Touring bike, on-road. Done: 4 Apr 2017
E: York to Bridlington Touring bike, on-road. Done: 21 Apr 2017
W: York to Dunsop Bridge Touring bike, on-road.
NE: York to Robin Hood's Bay Mountain bike, partially off-road.
NW: York to Cauldron Snout Mountain bike, partially off-road.
SE: York to Spurn Point Mountain bike, partially off-road.
SW: York to Saddleworth Mountain bike, partially off-road.

There are also blog posts for other, one-off trips to various places. They're listed by place, and also by date, in the menu bar at the side.

No comments:

Post a Comment